Spring Sports

Spring Sports

Girls Track

Head Coach 

Kara Mance

Email – mance_k@hcsb.k12.fl.us

Phone – 352-797-7010 Ext. 310

6 years at SHS

6 years coaching experience

High School – Arlington High School

College – SUNY Courtland

Assistant Coach

Dustin Kupcik

Email – kupcik_d@hcsb.k12.fl.us

12 years at SHS

17 years coaching experience

High School – Central High School

College – PHSC/Florida State University

Interesting Facts – Springstead AD for 5 years

 

Boys Track

Head Coach

John Capel

Email – johncapel82@gmail.com

5 years at SHS

18 years of coaching exerience

High School – Hernando HS

College – University of Florida

Collegiate/Pro – Football & Track at UF

Drafted by the Chicago Bears 2001 – Played for the Kansas City Chiefs 2001-2003

Track World Champ – 2003

Track Bronze Medal – 2006

Accolades/Accomplishments – 2018 Hernando Boys Track Coach of the Year.

Interesting Facts – Loves to play video games

Assistant Coach

 

 

Softball

Head Coach

Craig Swartout

Email – swartout_c@hcsb.k12.fl.us

Phone – 352-797-7010 Ext. 233

22 years at SHS

24 years coaching experience

High School – Parkway HS

College – University of West Florida

Accolades/Accomplishments – Hernando County’s All-time leader in Softball coaching victories with over 300

Assistant Coaches

Hector Ortiz (Head JV)

Email – hortizinfla@aol.com

13 years at SHS

31 years coaching experience

High School – Hoboken HS (NJ)

 

Baseball

Head Coach

 

Assistant Coaches

 

 

Girls Tennis

Head Coach

Kim Palmer

Email – palmerk2@hotmail.com

 

Boys Tennis

Head Coach

Brett Teitelman

Email – teitelman_b@hcsb.k12.fl.us

Phone – 352-797-7010 Ext. 290

4 years at SHS

23 years coaching experience

High School – J.J. Pearce HS

College – University of Florida

Collegiate/Pro – US Virgin Islands National Volleyball team member – 1998

Interesting Facts – Creator of the 1st HS tackle football league on the island of St. Croix USVI

 

Boys Weightlifting

Head Coach

Mike Garofano

Email – garofano_m@hcsb.k12.fl.us

Phone – 352-797-7010 Ext. 232